Lessons I've Learned

I Choose Me

“Most of my life has been spent trying to shrink myself. Trying to become smaller. Quieter. Less sensitive. Less opinionated. Less needy. Less me. Because I didn’t want to be a burden. I didn’t want to be too much or push people away. I wanted people to like me. I wanted to be cared for and valued. I wanted to be wanted. So for years, I sacrificed myself for the sake of making other people happy. And for years, I suffered. But I’m tired of suffering, and I’m done shrinking. It’s not my job to change who I am in order to become someone else’s idea of a worthwhile human being. I am worthwhile. Not because other people think I am, but because I exist, and therefore I matter. My thoughts matter. My feelings matter. My voice matters. And with or without anyone’s permission or approval, I will continue to be who I am and speak my truth. Even if it makes people angry. Even if it makes them uncomfortable. Even if they choose to leave. I refuse to shrink. I choose to take up space. I choose to honour my feelings. I choose to give myself permission to get my needs met. I choose to make self-care a priority. I choose me.” -Daniell Koepke
(Today there is no song to go with this message. The love song you will hear is the one you sing to yourself.)

I know this is quite the contrast to yesterday’s post about being a servant to others but what I’m about to say so desperately needs to be said for my sake.

Worry about yourself. Period. 

Your needs naturally take precedence over any others. It’s not selfish…it. is. self. love. Like I said yesterday, without being peaceful, you cannot truly teach peace. The same goes for if you do not take care of yourself. 

Sometimes we get to a point in our lives where we have to cut people out of our lives, not because we don’t love them, but because we love ourselves. If there is a toxic person in your life constantly upsetting you and stealing your good vibrations, they have to go. Most of the time, it will hurt very much to push them away but if you want to continue on your path of spiritual one-ness, you need to be honest with that person and cut the cord. 

I am admiring birds very much lately so I will use this beautiful creature as an example again. Mother birds are peculiar creatures. If a human, or any other animal touches her eggs or the baby birds, she will abandon them and kick them out of the nest. For awhile I didn’t understand this. I would always ask myself, “Why is the mother so cruel?” I am finally understanding now that she isn’t. She is looking out for herself and her other precious babies. If there is one unpure egg in the nest, it risks making her and her offspring sick. She isn’t cruel; She is simply saying,  “I choose me.” 

Be the mother bird to your baby bird self. This lesson doesn’t even have to pertain to people in your life. The toxic things effecting you could be a job or a habit. Whatever it may be, stand up for yourself and make a decision. 

Step #1. Ask yourself, “DO I WANT TO BE HAPPY?”

Step #2. You said yes. 

Step #3. Act accordingly. Say, “I choose me,” when you wake up. Mentally tell yourself that you love you. 

While it is important to love others, it is even more important that you love yourself. 

I love me. I choose me. I love me. I choose me. I love me. I choose me. 

Moon Maiden

Thank you for loving yourself. You are so beautiful. My soul recognizes your soul and the good in me, sees the good in you. Namaste. 

Leave a comment